My Goals For HNGi8 and KodeCamp

ยท

3 min read

Hey, everyone!!!

I finally finished up with school activities so I figured it was the perfect time to keep myself busy by taking part in this year's HNG Internship and KodeCamp Training; I am a part of the frontend web development stack and would love to briefly explain what these programs entail and my goals for scaling through them.

What is the HNG Internship?

TheHNGInternship-e1524228565227-1.png The HNG Internship is presently Nigeria/largest Africa's remote internship for software developers/engineers. Interns are exposed to real-world coding and software engineering practice throughout their internship, which typically lasts three months. It is not a training school, and it is not for beginners; nevertheless, novices are welcome to give it a shot; no one teaches you how to code; the organizers and mentors presume you already know how to code. It generally begins with no stage, on Slack, and duties are assigned weekly. This simply means entering each stage is not a guarantee. It all depends on your performance in the tasks given in each stage.

If you want to know more about this internship, visit this link.

What is KodeCamp?

image_98328a63-5649-45a6-ba89-1b0b6ca4d2b420210816_165522.jpg KodeCamp is a training program sponsored by KodeHauz in partnership with the HNG Internship. It is a remote training that runs for 4 months. It is specifically carried out to help those starting out their tech careers in web development, UI/UX and mobile app development. It is very beginner friendly.

With this, let me share the goals I intend to achieve during both of these programs.

Goals, Goals and More Goals

download (1).jpg

  1. Improve on My Tech Skills: I see this internship as an opportunity to boost my coding skills, especially in JavaScript.I believe the experience alone could push me into knowing more about JavaScript and how best to implement it when building websites.

  2. Improve My Soft Skills: At some point in HNGi8, the interns are going to be split into groups consisting of members of different stacks. This allows me to work on my collaboration and teamwork skills. I would also like to work on my communication skills during both trainings.

  3. Another of my main goals is to also be able to take constructive criticism without feeling some type of way and use it as an avenue to learn from my mistakes and make better choices in the future.

  4. Lastly, I would love to actually scale through this program successfully. Even if I don't make it to the final stage, I want to know that I remained motivated enough to reach whatever point that I did.

Conclusion

So these are the basic goals I intend on achieving during HNGi8 and KodeCamp. Fingers crossed I actually make it through both programs.

As a beginner myself or somewhere in between, I would like to share some helpful tutorials that helped me out when I initially learned how to code. You can check out the links below: